I show concerned parents who want to give their children the best start to life how to better understand their children.

Reviews

This page is dedicated to all the reviews and people who have reviewed my book. A big thanks to all those who have reviewed my book thus far. I really appreciate it! Please take some time to read the reviews. You will not be disappointed.

I am always on the lookout for more reviewers. If you have read my book and believe in what I'm doing, please write a review. Thanks in advance.

And if you have a second to spare second, please hit the share buttons at the bottom. It would really help.
By: Fran Lewis
Profession: Internet book reviewer
Date: June 2013
Original site: http://tillie49.wordpress.com/2013/06/06/throught-the-crimson-mirror-my-thoughts/

Through the Crimson Mirror: Daniel Alexander

Reflections change as we do with age. When looking into a mirror as a child we see might see innocence, fear, unhappiness, joy and a myriad of emotions that we do not understand and try to channel in many different directions. Sometimes we succeed and at other times we fail. Parents are supposed to or we hope they do pick up on our many different moods but they don’t always. A child who is outgoing and sudden becomes sullen should automatically set off a red flag that something is wrong. But, all too often, and I am not saying always, parents are busy with work, their own problems and think their child is just going through some type of phase and will grow out of it.

As we mature and become teens our thoughts, friendships and desires change and we need the guidance of others to answer our questions, keep us on the right path and listen to our concerns. Parents all too often try to inflict their opinions, mores and way of thinking on their children and forget they are entitled to disagree. This is a compelling and thought provoking book that will take readers inside the mind of this talented author and writer to understand first hand his thoughts, feelings and insights on what he feels parents need to do in order to be better parents. Choices are important and the ones you make you are responsible for whether they turn out good or bad. Young adults and teens often have trouble just dealing with their hormones, school, realizing that pretty soon they will be applying for colleges and then entering the work force. This book was written to alert parents to become more aware of these changes, help them to know what to look for to improve as parents and to evaluate their actions as parents.
By: Carrie Slager (The Mad Reviewer)
Profession: Internet book reviewer
Date: May 2013
Original site: http://carrieslager.wordpress.com/2013/05/15/through-the-crimson-mirror-by-daniel-alexander/

It took me a really, really long time to read Through the Crimson Mirror, even though it’s less than 100 pages.  Normally a book that length should take me less than an hour.  Now, that’s not because it’s a bad book I had to suffer through.  No, it’s because Daniel Alexander’s book was good; I had to slow down and digest all of the information being presented to me quite thoroughly.

This isn’t just a book on parenting—it’s also a book for any teenager/young adult who wants to gain more insight into the choices their parents made.  In some cases, it could be a lesson on what to look out for if you decide to become a parent.  In other cases, it could offer an explanation for the behavior of parents.  Daniel Alexander covers everything from educational reform to lying to your children in his book and it makes Through the Crimson Mirror a thought-provoking read.  Do I agree with everything he talks about in his book?  Of course not.  But that’s really not the point: the point is to get people thinking about the choices we and others make as parents and how to see through the eyes of a child.
By: Marsha L Randolph
Profession: Internet book reviewer
Date: February 2013
Original site: http://beyondthebookstore.blogspot.com/2013/02/through-crimson-mirror.html

I was sucked into the zone of “Through the Crimson Mirror” from the first sentence. As a reader I was able to appreciate the somber philosophical writing style of author Daniel Alexander. As a writer I understood the need to put his emotions into words and as a reviewer I appreciated his parenting observations.

The eBook is less a do’s and don’ts of parenting and more of a consider this when you do that collection of very important ideas.   As the subtitle implies “Through the Crimson Mirror” is a biographical reflection such a complicated way of saying “how I got to be me”.  Daniel Alexander’s story is a reminder that there is no set formula to raising the perfect child yet there are some things that we as parents can do to not raise a troubled child...
By: Helge Janssen
Profession: Part-time online journalist and reviewer
Date: January 2013
Original site: http://www.artlink.co.za/news_article.htm?contentID=31973

There is a very deep heart-felt thread that runs through “Through the Crimson Mirror” that is estimable: to heal a fractured parental world.

Daniel Alexander’s style is down-to-earth, chatty and at times overwhelming - where the reasoning twists and turns in an array of mind paths, but with an ultimate aim: to demonstrate the way in which the intellect thinks/works, how the mind at times argues with itself and how, with the correct focus the cognitive-routes converge towards a possible solution. The process is liberal, democratic and considerate and entices the reader to keep reading...
By: Courtney Bauman
Profession: Internet book reviewer
Date: December 2012
Original site: http://www.baumanbookreviews.com/2012/12/through-crimson-mirror-by-daniel.html

This book is interesting. It is a non-fiction/memoir book.

I feel like it read sort of as a journal, but was also trying to teach a few lessons through the author’s past experiences.

I felt like the beginning of the book was setting it up to be more about parenting from a child’s perspective, and while that theme did come up in every chapter, I don’t feel as though it was the main point of this book as I continued my reading...
By: The Parchment Review
Profession: Internet book reviewer
Date: October 2012
Original site: http://parchmentreviews.wordpress.com/2012/10/15/through-the-crimson-mirror/

Through the Crimson Mirror, by Daniel Alexander, is an introspective account of parenting…from a child’s point of view. It’s the first of a trilogy, and this one talks about education, parenting, and communication.

Alexander, 28, wrote this book using examples from his own life and his own dysfunctional family. That’s why there’s an obvious amount of emotion in the words. Couple that with a lot of interesting theories, and you have a really good parenting book.

The writer doesn’t claim to be an expert, but merely an observer. The book lets you think independently, while guiding your intellect down a lot of probable paths. The target audience for this book is obviously parents; they’ll find it very riveting...
By: LADD (Living ADDventure©)
Profession: Workshops and courses for children who have AD/HD
Date: September 2012
Original site: http://www.ladd.co.za - it's not long on their site, as when they re-did their site, they left it off

Don’t judge a book by its cover
Living ADDventure are an organization near to where I (Daniel) live, who run training programs for children with ADHD.
They were kind enough to review my book.
I'm posting it on my blog now because they have changed their website, and some of the older posts have been deleted.

Does someone who hasn’t had children and doesn’t have relevant medical or educations qualifications have the right to tell you how to parent your children?

A few months ago, a young man, named Daniel Alexander e-mailed me and told me he was writing a book about parenting and he wanted to interview us in connection with the ADHD work we did...
By: Debi Blake
Profession: Local newspaper sub-editor
Date: August 2012
Original site: Debi doesn't have a web site

Talking about an unhappy childhood, is never easy. Opening up and committing it to a book, for public consumption is unthinkable for most of us.

In "Through the Crimson Mirror" Daniel Alexander, a first-time author - and talented at that - shares with the reader his observations on his complicated childhood, as well as thoughts and suggestions on parenting...from a child/teenager's perspective.

The book is the first of a trilogy by Alexander, and quite frankly the author had me at the first sentence in the Author's Note: "I believe that as human beings we hold all the answers within ourselves."

This sentence could also be a reply to all parents who would question how Alexander can write a book on parenting, having not been a parent himself...